Customizing Sidemenu Background Color

Hello everybody

I am pretty new to jmix and Java development and “suffering” from almost 30 years desktop application development. So please excuse my question if it is far too simple or somewhere explained already. At least I have not found the path to success.

I simply wan’t to change the appearance of the sidemenu - especially the background color. Playing around with helium theme editor, extending styles etc. brought partially success but not for the background color.

Is there any straight way to do so? My thx to you in advance.

best regards

Michael

Hi Michael,

no worries, we are all new to something at some point. Every question is welcome. And you can be sure: behind one person asking there are at least ten people having the same problem :slight_smile:

Basic Settings for the colors you can find here in the Helium Editor: https://demo.jmix.io/helium-editor/#main (you have to check the Advanced Mode)

CleanShot 2022-07-08 at 20.54.43@2x

If you go ahead and want to do further adjustments, you can take a look at the Jmix Petclinic example. There in the custom Theme configuration, you can find a lot of custom definitions of the side menu including the background colors: jmix-petclinic/src/main/themes/petclinic at main · jmix-framework/jmix-petclinic · GitHub

For all of those, you will have to create a custom Theme (see: Creating a Custom Theme :: Jmix Documentation).

Cheers
Mario

3 Likes

Thx a lot Mario. Sorry for the late reply and late appreciation. Now I am back on track and will continue my journey as Rookie.

Best regards, Michael

hello Mario, I followed the documentation to build a custom theme but my customizations to the sidemenu do not appear.

My helium-extended.scss looks like this:

@import “…/helium/helium”;

@mixin helium-extended {
@include helium;

/* Main Window */

–maintabsheet-tabcontainer-background-color: #E3F7FF;

/* SideMenu */

–sidemenu-background-color: #68EFFF;